Last Updated: Nov 6, 2013
- Investor and Financial Dictionary by InvestorWords.com
Online financial glossary containing over 15,000 definitions that are regularly updated and related to: stocks, bonds, banking, accounting, insurance and forex. Part of WebFinance, Inc.
- Investopedia - Educating the world about finance
Definitions, articles, videos, slideshows, tutorials, calculators, FAQs for topics, such as: investing, markets, personal finance, active trading, and forex.
- Wall Street Journal Executive Library
Concise links related to stock markets/investments from Wall Street ExecutiveLibrary.com (Kurian Mathew Tharakan). The link will take you to the 'Financial Market Research, Investment Research' section.
The LibGuide for Wall Street Journal will have information on different ways to access this resource. Refer to Section C for Money & Investing for stock price data. Pages 1-2 usually include overall trading activity for stock exchanges (Dow Jones Industrial Average, NASDAQ Composite, S&P 500 & Russell 2000). Section C also covers individual stocks on each of the exchanges offering, high, low and close data and yearly activity.
Off campus, sign in using your 14 digit library barcode (back of Gull Card) and last name.
For a complete list of databases available through the library use SU Blackwell Library Databases by Subject and Title.
Here are some recommendations of databases that can be used to find stock reports:
- Business Insights: Essentials (Gale)
Use the search bar and search by company name or ticker symbol. Find the profile for your company and then look for links to 'Investment Reports' - these will vary by company.
- LexisNexis Academic
Along the left side of the page select 'Companies' - 'Company Dossier' to get an overview of the company, including a snapshot, news, financials, legal cases, and intellectual property. Included within the financial information is Zacks Investment Research Reports. Zacks is a leading investment research firm focusing on stock research, analysis and recommendation.
- Mergent Online
Formerly known as Moody's Financial Information Service, Mergent Online provides full-text business descriptions, corporate histories and detailed financial data for over 10,000 public U.S. and international, and 17,000 non- U.S. public companies. Search by company name or ticker symbol. Use the 'Company Financials' tab for historical As Reported and Standardized Financials as well as ratios, restated financials, prelims, and business analysis.
Morningstar's data reports cover more than 20,000 securities with historical data back to 1996. Use the search bar in the upper right hand corner to search by company name or ticker symbol, which should generate information on the company including: quote, chart, stock analysis, performance, key ratios, financials, valuation, insiders, shareholders, transcripts, filings, bonds, options. The 'Stock Analysis' sections provides a Morningstar analyst's written report, including buy and sell guidance.
- Value Line Investment Survey Online Reports
A research company that collects data and analyzes performance of approximately 8,000 stocks, 15,000 mutual funds, 80,000 options and other securities. Use for ratings and reports. Use the search bar at the top of the screen to search by company name or ticker symbol, or hover over 'Research Hub' and then select 'Investment Survey.' Use the resources in 'Investment Education' for guides and information on how to use the reports.
Fall 2013 Perdue Office Hours:
Tuesdays (3rd floor faculty office area) & Thursdays (2nd floor), 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Blackwell Library, Room 128