Introduction
Welcome to the Guide for Respiratory Therapy
This subject guide is intended to be a starting point for your research on health sciences and medical topics. Recommended databases, journals, reference tools, and websites are listed. Links are provided to electronic sources. Resources will include information on the delivery of health care in rural settings.
Databases Search library databases to find journal articles and other information sources on a topic. Some journal articles are available in full-text through the database or through FindIt links. View the tab Find Articles for a list of databases. See page for Find Articles in this guide.
Journals Scholarly, academic, or professional journals provide articles authored by professionals in the field. Current research is often reported in scholarly journals. View the tab Find Articles for information about journals. See pages for Find Articles and Journals in this guide.
Reference Sources Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Handbooks and other sources to consult for information and to find bibliographic references to additional information sources. See pages for Reference Sources and Find Books in this guide.
Websites Selected sites with information provided by professional associations, government agencies, educational institutions, libraries, and other authoritative sources. See page Internet Sources in this guide.
Book Review Sources
Choice Reviews Online. Publishes book reviews monthly. Monthly issues of Choice can be searched by subject for books in a discipline such as nursing or psychology. Searchers may set up an alert to get an e-mail monthly from Choice about recent book reviews on selected topics.
- Choice Reviews Online through Research PortUse the tab for e-journals to find Choice Reviews Online listed by title.
- Books in Print through Research PortUse the tab for Databases, to find Books in Print listed alphabetically as a database. Often book reviews are included in Books in Print.
More Professional Resources
Recommended articles about information seeking and the information search process and resources for research for evidence-based practice in nursing.
- Modeling Cognitive ProcessesFord, N. (2004). Modeling Cognitive Processes in Information Seeking: From Popper to Pask. Journal of the American Society for Information Science & Technology, 55(9): 769-782.
- The 'Information Search Process' RevisitedKuhlthau, C.C., HeinstrÖm, J. & Todd, R.J. (2008). The 'information search process' revisited: Is the model still useful? Information Research, 13(4) paper 355.
- Faculty Perspectives on Information Literacy Saunders, L. (2012). Faculty Perspectives on Information Literacy as a Student Learning Outcome. The Journal of Academic Librarianship, 38(4): 226-236.
- Graduate Student Searching ProficienciesAllen, E.J. & Weber, R.K. (2012). Graduate Student Searching Proficiencies in the Selection of Qualitative & Quantitative Journal References. The Journal of Academic Librarianship, 38(3): 130-134.
- Evidence-Based Practice for the Busy Nurse Practioner: Part OneFacchiano, Lynda; Snyder, Charlene Hoffman. Evidence-based practice for the busy nurse practitioner: Part one: Relevance to clinical practice and clinical inquiry process. Journal of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners, 2012 Oct; 24 (10): 579-86
- Evidence-Based Practice for the Busy Nurse Practitioner: Part Two Facchiano, Lynda; Snyder, Charlene Hoffman. Evidence-based practice for the busy nurse practitioner: Part two: Searching for the best evidence to clinical inquiries. Journal of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners, 2012 Nov; 24 (11): 640-8.
- Evidence Based Practice - Research for NursingBy the Library of the Health Sciences-Chicago, University of Illinois at Chicago.
Liaison to Health Sciences, Nursing and Psychology |


Loading...
