Last Updated: Nov 6, 2013
Fortune 500 was created in 1955 and is an annual list that ranks America's largest corporations, both public and private, by revenue.
- Fortune 500 2012 (CNNMoney.com)
Fortune 500 annual ranking of America's largest corporations
- Fortune 500 - Archived List (CNNMoney.com)
Access a database of 50 years worth of Fortune's list of America's largest corporations (1955-2005) in addition to years leading up to the most recent.
- Fortune via Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
Search within the publication using keywords, such as 'rankings' or 'fortune 500 companies.' Full text available from 1/27/1992 - present. Bibliographic records for 01/09/1984 - present.
- Fortune (Blackwell Library)
Fortune 500 issue is a special issue of Fortune published once a year. Most recent issues in Current Periodicals on 1st floor of Blackwell Library; most issues back to 1930 either in microfilm, storage, or bound periodicals on 2nd floor. See catalog record for specifics.
- Gary Price's Lists of Lists (Special Issues)
"The List of Lists is a database of ranked listings of companies, people and resources freely available on the Internet. Content comes from a number of sources including: Specialissues.com, Gary Price's "ResourceShelf" and individual users of the LOL."
Market Share is the "percentage of industry sales of a particular company or product" (Friedman, 2000, p. 414)
Strauss's Handbook of Business Information
Call Number: HF1010 .M67 2012
"Market share is, quite simply, the ratio of sales for one company's product or product line to the total market sales of that product or product line, expressed as a percentage of the market" (p. 147). This book is located in the Reference Collection on the 1st floor of Blackwell Library. Market Share is addressed and explained on pages 147-149; you may find this information helpful.
Business Insights: Essentials (Gale) - After finding your company or industry, there should be a box on the right side of the page labeled 'Related Content' that lists 'Market Share Reports' or 'Rankings' if they are available. These reports and rankings will be specific to your company or industry.
- Market Share Reporter via Business Insights: Essentials (Gale) database
Annual publication. Access 1999 - most recent publication within the database Business Insights: Essentials (Gale). Use the 'Advanced Search' setting; type 'Market Share Reporter' into the Publication Title search box; specify date, keyword, industry, etc. to narrow results.
- Market Share Reporter, 2009
We have the 2009 print copy of the Market Share Reporter in our Reference Collection, located on the 1st floor of Blackwell Library. HF5410 .M35 2009 v.1-2
"Presenting comparative business statistics in a clear, straightforward manner, Market Share Reporter affords an immediate overview of companies, products and services and cites original sources. A convenient arrangement by four-digit SIC code helps business decision makers and researchers easily access needed data for more than 2,000 entries. Each entry features a descriptive title; data and market description; a list of producers/ products along with their market share; and more."
- Business Rankings Annual via Business Insights: Essentials (Gale) database
Annual publication. Access 2000 - most recent publication within the database Business Insights: Essentials (Gale). Use the 'Advanced Search' setting; type 'Business Rankings Annual' into the Publication Title search box; specify date, keyword, industry, etc. to narrow results.
- Business Rankings Annual, 2005
We have the 2005 print copy of Business Rankings Annual in our Reference Collection, located on the 1st floor of Blackwell Library. HG4050 .B88 2005
5,000 ranking lists have been compiled from periodicals, newspapers, financial services, directories, statistical annuals and other printed material. The "top 10" from each of these rankings appears in this volume, grouped under standard subject headings for easy browsing. See 'Outline of Contents' in front of the book for a subject index or 'Index' for name of company in the back of the book. Information can be looked up by SIC Code in the 'SIC Code Index' in the back. Numbers in the indexes refer to entry numbers not page numbers.
- ABI/INFORM Global (ProQuest)
'Advanced Search' setting; Enter 'NAICS code' or 'Company Organization' in the appropriate search box; combine with keywords 'market share' or 'rankings' using the search boxes at the top of the page; narrow results, as needed
- Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
'Advanced Search' setting; Enter 'NAICS/Industry Code', 'Company/Entity' name, or 'Ticker Symbol' in the appropriate search boxes; combine with keywords 'market share' or 'rankings' using the search boxes at the top of the page; narrow results, as needed
Fall 2013 Perdue Office Hours:
Tuesdays (3rd floor faculty office area) & Thursdays (2nd floor), 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Blackwell Library, Room 128