Last Updated: Sep 12, 2013
Use Blackwell Library databases to search for SEC filings or reports.
Off campus, sign in using your 14 digit library barcode (on the back of Gull Card) and last name.
- LexisNexis Academic
Along the left side of the page choose 'Companies' and then 'SEC Filings' to search for a filing/report. For foreign filings select Form 20-F.
- Mergent Online
Formerly known as Moody's Financial Information Service, Mergent Online provides full-text business descriptions, corporate histories and detailed financial data for over 10,000 public U.S. and international, and 17,000 non- U.S. public companies. Provides full search access to the EDGAR database. Search for a company by name or ticker symbol and then look for the tab 'Filings.' For international filings search for Form 20-F.
Keys to Reading an Annual Report
Call Number: HF5681.B2 F773 2008 (Stacks)
Publication Date: 2008-05-16
Section I Understanding Annual Report Components
Section II Understanding Financial Statements
Section III Analyzing Financial Statements
Corporate webpages will often have their latest financial reports available through an Investor Relations page. Try typing "[company name] investor relations" and then look for tabs relating to financial reports.
Example: "coca cola investor relations"
The SEC requires that public companies disclose meaningful financial information to the public in order to achieve the concept that all investors, rather they be large institutions or private individuals, have basic information about an investment before they buy it and so long as they hold it. The filings collected by the SEC are searchable through EDGAR.
- Filings & Forms (SEC.gov)
"All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free. Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database."
- Next-Generation EDGAR System (SEC.gov)
Search EDGAR for information collected by the SEC. "Since 1934, the SEC has required disclosure in forms and documents. In 1984, EDGAR began collecting electronic documents to help investors get information..."
- Important Information About EDGAR (SEC.gov)
"EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)...Not all documents filed with the Commission by public companies will be available on EDGAR..."
- Annual Report
The annual report to shareholders is the principal document used by most public companies to disclose corporate information to their shareholders. It is usually a state-of-the-company report, including an opening letter from the Chief Executive Officer, financial data, results of continuing operations, market segment information, new product plans, subsidiary activities, and research and development activities on future programs. The Form 10-K, which must be filed with the SEC, typically contains more detailed information about the company’s financial condition than the annual report....
Fall 2013 Perdue Office Hours:
Tuesdays (3rd floor faculty office area) & Thursdays (2nd floor), 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Blackwell Library, Room 128